Pretty in pink

Apart from an ill advised adventure with a faux fur-lined knitted trapper hat (which will get blogged once I’ve made it work and finished hoovering up all the loose fur) I’ve been working on this sweet pram blanket for the past week or so. 

My lovely friend Tracey asked me to make something to keep her new granddaughter warm and cosy. The only requirement was that is was pink and white, which was a wonderful brief that allowed lots of creativity. 

Tracey had seen a large granny square blanket that I’d made for work, so I nearly made granny squares, but no – the artist within demanded something more! So I made granny octagons (double the creativity see) with a nice cluster stitch variation and interspersed with posy granny squares. 

I sewed, rather than crocheted it, together then finished off with a couple of rows of dc, then four rows of granny square pattern, with finally a picot edge.

The result is almost fairy tale sweet; when I was a child, we had a video, recorded from the TV of The Slipper and the Rose, a gorgeous 1970s version of Cinderella. It’s full of elaborate 18th century costumes, covered in frills and roses, and is probably the subconscious inspiration for this. 

It was also a very (very) reasonable and practical make. So many baby and small child patterns that I see ask for cashmere, merino or silk. Luxurious and expressing the wealth or your love they might be; sensible around small children with their limitless propensity to create dirt they ain’t. This is made from 100g balls of acrylic yarn I picked up from my local Wilkinsons and some small oddments of acrylic from my stash. Not only did it cost me under £2 to make (commissions from other people falling outside my No New Yarn 2017 policy), it can also be machine washed at 40 degrees and will survive the tumble dryer. 

Pretty and practical.

Leave a Reply

