If Medusa wore socks…

Firstly; these socks aren’t really my taste. This is the second ball of King Cole Magnum that I was given by a very lovely friend who was clearing out her yarn stash. It is a glorious multicoloured mismatch, with a nice amount of wool, thick and squishy. My mock cable socks in the blue mix have already got a lot of use, although I’m always slightly stung by the different coloured foot.

This ball of yarn was going to be different. Perfect socks in just one, albeit highly variegated, yarn. I also wanted to play with real cables and adapting the pattern, something that is relatively new to me.

The result is these gorgeously snaky little booties. Very cosy, and short enough to fit under boots, so only I know the riot going on with my feet. They are far from perfect – I was tired last night and confused my cabling, while other areas are a bit too loose. 

Somewhere in my stash I have a lot of Hebridean wool I bought a few years ago on the Isle of Harris. With more competent cables, a suede base and possibly a nice soft lining this pattern will make some lovely slippers – now will I remember that in time for next Christmas?

Leave a Reply

