Fit for a prince

It is one of my favourite little people’s birthday at the end of the month. He is the beloved offspring of one of my favourite slightly larger people and getting to know my old friend as a mother, whilst watching her gorgeous son grow has been one of the joys of the last four years. 

This little person shares my love of castles and old things, and is having a knights and princesses party for his birthday. Every knight needs some chain mail to protect him when he’s off on his quests, so this week I’ve been working on some knitted chainmail.

I found a great pattern online, this one, by KayRay. I’m adapting it slightly to fit a smaller child, and a lighter wool. I’m using a mix of a very basic grey DK and some Rowan Kidsilk Haze. I love the look of the latter, but loathe working with it, so doubling it up is working very well. It’s knitting up to be light and soft and shiny. 

I’m using 9mm circular needles and am finding holding them quite hard on the wrist. Garter stitch on circular knitting also made my head explode for a while, so it is a tad scrappy. About 40 rows to go, then it’ll be done! I might even write up the pattern.

Leave a Reply

