Oh dear dungarees

I spend a lot of time at work polishing floors in unheated, ancient rooms. I need something warm and practical and hard-wearing for the winter. 
Way back in the summer, I bought 3 metres of a beige corduroy in John Lewis for a bargain  £4 a metre. The plan then, such as it was, was to make some long loose coat.

The fabric and the need combined with a free dungaree pattern offered with a magazine and in mid November I cut out these beauties. The pattern is clearly meant for a much lighter weight fabric, and the colour is  frankly uninspiring. 

Despite the fact that I know I need these, I am very aware that they are going to look  awful, so they’be been lingering in a basket waiting, just waiting.

Not tonight! Tonight I have inserted the zip, and have been hand sewing the front pocket. I love handsewing and would always rather have a needle in my hand than sit at my machine. I’m starting to fall for these dungarees…

Leave a Reply

